More than 200 people attended the North Shore Best & Fairest Ball last Saturday night at the Kirribilli Club to look back on the season that was. A season that saw 12 North Shore teams take the field, seven of them play finals and Division 3A take out the premiership.

It marks the end of an era, with Ryan Meldrum’s coaching career coming to an end; while senior players Teddy Strudwick, Sam Carruthers, Chris Murphy, Selby Lee-Steere and Shaun Crane hanging up the boots or moving interstate next year.

But it’s also the start of a new era, with Michael Ford taking over as Mens Premier Division coach and Locky Pryor taking the reigns for the newly-promoted Womens Premier Division team. And the opportunity is there for players to step up into senior footy and take on a leadership role.


The Best & Fairest award was taken out by Ned Campbell. At just 19 years of age, Ned stepped up this season and showed the ability to be a star for North Shore for many years to come.


The award winners for 2019 were

Ned Campbell (right) celebrates his first Seniors Best & Fairest award

Mens Seniors (Premier Division)

Best & Fairest – Ned Campbell

Runner Up – Kyle Devlin

Coach’s Award – Teddy Strudwick

Most Improved – Charlie Silvester

Best in Finals – Max Thomas

Best First Year Player – Pierce Roseby


Mens Reserves (Premier Reserves)

Best & Fairest – Tim Weston

Runner Up – Matt Whitbread

Coach’s Award – Nic Hurrell

Most Improved – Brodie Hurrell


Mens Thirds (Division One)

Best & Fairest – Mitch Crisafulli

Runner Up – Alastair Ferguson

Coach’s Award – Stuart Kempson

Most Improved – Jack Buckley

Best in Finals – Nicholas Bogard


Mens Fourths (Division Two)

Best & Fairest – Jacob Crisafulli

Runner Up – Jack Anderson

Coach’s Award – Marcus Bell

Most Improved – Alex Selvarajah

Best in Finals – Harry Newbery


Mens Fifths A (Division 3A)

Best & Fairest – Laurence Smith

Runner Up – Jack Bateman

Coach’s Award – Cooper Elliott

Most Improved – Dallas McKinnon

Best in Finals – Tim (Bobby) Beissman


Mens Fifths B (Division 3B)

Best & Fairest – Brian Jackson

Runner Up – Nicholas Flood

Coach’s Award – James Conway

Most Improved – Hendrik Aug


Under 19s Division One

Best & Fairest – Harry Cooper

Runner Up – Harry Barnum

Coach’s Award – Charlie Lovegrove

Most Improved – Jack Dillon


Under 19s Division Two

Best & Fairest – Luke Lawrence

Runner Up – Campbell Saddington

Coach’s Award – Campbell Saddington

Most Improved – Frane Babic

Best in Finals – Sam Milligan


Womens Firsts (Division One)

Best & Fairest – Peta Larkin

Runner Up – Jenny Kronqvist

Coach’s Award – Charlotte Fyffe

Most Improved – Stephanie Oesterheld


Womens Seconds (Division Two)

Best & Fairest – Alex Bradley

Runner Up – Estelle Berton

Coach’s Award – Olwen Higgins

Most Improved – Monica Masaoka


Womens Thirds (Division Three)

Best & Fairest – Emily MacKenzie

Runner Up – Madison Fogarty

Coach’s Award – Daisy Yuan

Most Improved – Karina Boyle



Best & Fairest – Mark Folkes

Runner Up – David Bailey


Club Awards

Swan-Aynsley Spirit Cup – Locky Pryor

Lionel Beale Perpetual Award – Matilda (Tilly) Eder

Best Playing Club Person – Sam Jackson

Volunteer of the Year – Stuart Kennedy, Michael Shillito (joint winners)

Locky Pryor, winner of the inaugural Spirit Cup, with representatives of the Swan & Aynsley famiies

Congratulations to all winners.


That’s a wrap for 2019. Bring on 2020, and let’s make next season even better!!