Chris Murphy Wins North Shore Best & Fairest

North Shore is back! That was the message sent loud and clear from North Shore’s glittering Best &Fairest Ball at Doltone House last Friday night.

A bumper roll-up of 170 people took part in the evening, with dinner served and partying into the night. And there was plenty to celebrate after a successful season on and off the field for North Shore.

All of the five North Shore teams nominated this year played in finals; highlighted by an Under 19s Division One premiership. Reserves were pipped in the Grand Final, the Seniors and Thirds fell just one game short and our new Under 19s Division Two team made the finals in their first season.

Awards were presented during the night, with key defender Chris Murphy being rewarded for an outstanding season as he took out the Premier Division Best and Fairest as well as the Players’ Player award.

North Shore has a long and proud record going back to 1903, and there are many who have had long periods of distinguished service, both on and off the field. The club inducted five long-term club members into Life Membership; congratulations to Chris Murphy, Justin Murphy, Danny Roberts, Jarryd Watters and Steve Watters.

A community football club can’t exist without support, and North Shore are thankful for the support of our sponsors including Mortgage Choice, CNH Industrial, Only About Children, Prime Constructions, Dixon Advisory, Business Plaza, The Physiotherapy and Sports Injury Clinic North Sydney, ISC, Mysportstape, Wattyl Electrical Services, Champagne Property Maintenance, F45 St Leonards and My Fit Friend in helping to make the night and the year possible.

The club was very pleased to have Stephen Lemm from Mortgage Choice and Garry Smith from Business Plaza attending the night; during which principal sponsor, Steve Lemm of Mortgage Choice, spoke of his delight in being able to support the club in 2016 and announced a significant increase in his support for 2017.

It was a great year for North Shore, but the club won’t be resting on its laurels. The Bombers are hopeful of fielding a Fourths mens team and a womens team for the first time; providing more opportunities to play the game than ever before.

Anyone who would like to play for North Shore, whatever your standard, will be welcomed with open arms.


2016 was a great year for North Shore, both on and off the field and the good news is there’s more to come. Enjoy your off-season; the 2017 season will be upon us before long and we are excited by the prospects!

Congratulations to all award winners.

Premier Division (Seniors)

Best & Fairest – Chris Murphy

Second – Selby Lee-Steere

Third – Sam Carruthers

Best First Year Player – James Loneragan

Coach’s Award – Will Bradley

Most Improved – Daniel Schacher

Best in Finals – Selby Lee-Steere

Players’ Player – Chris Murphy

Division Two (Reserve Grade)

Best & Fairest – Luke Slater

Second – Ziggy Middendorf

Third – Marlon Marquez

Coach’s Award – Ziggy Middendorf

Most Improved – Xavier Burton

Best in Finals – Marlon Marquez

Division Four (Third Grade)

Best & Fairest – Jack Jones*

Second – Nick Harris

Third – Angad Roy

Coach’s Award – Steve Hirche

Most Improved – Charles Mansfield

Best in Finals – Richie Snowden

* Jack Jones was also the winner of the Sydney AFL’s Armstrong Medal as best across the league in this division.

Under 19s Division One

Best & Fairest – Charles Sennitt

Second – Ned Campbell

Third – Sam Barkley

Coach’s Award – Max Thomas

Most Improved – Tom Criniti

Best in Finals – Callum Hurst

Under 19s Division Two

Best & Fairest- Harrison Parker

Second – Patrick Bezzi

Third – Jonathan Hookey

Coach’s Award – Jack Stokes

Most Improved – Jonathan Hookey

Best in Finals – Laurence Smith

Club Awards

Volunteer of the Year – Peter McCutcheon

Lionel Beale Perpetual Award – Matthew Buskariol

Playing Clubman – Jarryd Watters

Best Club Person – Ryan Meldrum